Morgan County Treasurer | Morgan County, Ohio

Check Your Bills

As a property owner, you are required to notify the Treasurer's Office of any change of address or forwarding information. Failure to receive a tax bill does not excuse failure or delay to pay any taxes, assessments, or other charges shown on bill or avoid any penalty, interest or charge for such delay. To change an address, download the change of address form HERE.

Tax Increases

Tax increases are due to special tax levies or bond issues, which were voted upon and passed by the voters of your taxing district or due to valuation changes. Your County Treasurer has no authority to increase or decrease your real estate taxes.

Penalty & Interest

A 5% penalty of current tax if received within 10 days of the closing date; 10% penalty thereafter. Interest accrues on all unpaid taxes on August 1 following second half closing and December 1 of each year. Taxes outstanding after second half may be subject to public certification in the news media.

Due Date

Payments must be received, or a US Postal stamp postmark, by due date.

100% Appraised Value

The Market Value (Sale Value) of property. This is determined by appraisals/reappraisals done by the Morgan County Auditor once ever six years. Equalization adjustments are made in the third year following reappraisals.

35% Taxable Value

In Ohio, property taxes are levied against the Assessed Value or 35% of the Market Value of the property.

Homestead Reduction

Everyone 65 or older or disabled persons with an income up to $36,100 are eligible to receive the homestead exemption. In order to apply for the exemption you will need to contact the Morgan County Auditor's Office at (740) 962-4475 or HERE to access the Auditor's forms.

Special Assessment

Added for such items as water and sewer.

Drop Box

There is an orange drop box located at the front of the Riecker Building for your convenience. Please include your bill along with your check.

Owner-Occupancy Credit

If the taxes charged against a parcel have been reduced by the owner-occupancy credit for residences occupied by the owner, but the property is not a residence occupied by the owner, the owner must notify the Morgan County Auditor's Office no later than March 31 of the year following the year for which taxes are due. Failure to do so may result in the owner being convicted of a fourth-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by imprisonment up to 30 days, a fine up to $250, or both, and the owner having to repay the amount by which the taxes were erroneously or illegally reduced, plus any interest that may apply. If the taxes charged against this parcel have not been reduced by the owner-occupancy credit and the parcel includes a residence occupied by the owner, the parcel may qualify for the tax reduction. To obtain an application for the tax reduction or for further information, the owner may contact the Morgan County Auditor's Office at (740) 962-4475 or HERE to access the Auditor's forms. O.R.C. 323.131(A)(3)(b).


If taxes are not paid within 60 days from the date they are certified delinquent, the property is subject to foreclosure for tax delinquency. See O.R.C. 323.131(A)(3)(a).

If property is owned by a member of the National Guard or a member of a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States who is called active duty, you may qualify for an extension of time to pay your taxes. O.R.C. 323.122.